Learn to Sail

This is the year for you and your loved ones to learn how to sail…or perhaps increase your existing knowledge of navigation, racing tactics, or running a powerboat.

Learn to Sail, because it’s fun!

The links below will take you to sailing schools, community sailing centers, clubs and other training organizations in the Northeast (and some to the South!). Many of them provide instruction in a wide variety of boats as well as US Sailing or American Sailing Association certification. Others offer charters, fractional ownership programs, private lessons, safe powerboating courses, captain’s license preparation, safety-at-sea seminars for sailors of all ages, seamanship and offshore sailing instruction, sailing instructor training, courses for cruising couples, marine science education, and much more. The top of the list are current advertisers that support the WindCheck Community. After that are many more who appear or contribute to our coverage regularly.  


Black Rock Sailing School www.blackrocksailingschool.com Having earned national recognition as “ASA Outstanding School” 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012 (every year that this award was offered!), and “ASA Outstanding Instructor” 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014 (x2), 2015, 2016 (x2), 2018 – we feel that it is safe to say that we are “America’s Foremost Sailing School!”

Blue Water Sailing School www.bwss.com

Landfall Marine Training Center www.landfallnavigation.com/training-center

Key Lime Sailing Club www.keylimesailingclub.com

Nautical School www.nauticalschool.com

Offshore Passage Opportunities www.sailopo.com

Sailaway Sailing School www.teamsailaway.com

Storm Trysail Foundation www.stormtrysailfoundation.org

American Sailing Association www.asa.com

Andrew Burton’s Adventure Sailing www.burtonsailing.com

Blue Water Sailing Club www.bluewatersc.clubexpress.com

Confident Captain/Ocean Pros www.confidentcaptain.com

Community Boating www.communityboating.com

Cruising Club of America www.cruisingclub.org

Discover Sailing www.discoversailing.com

Hudson River Community Sailing www.hudsonsailing.org

In-Command Seamanship Training www.incommandri.com

J/World www.sailing-jworld.com

Longshore Sailing School www.longshoresailingschool.com

Morse Alpha Expeditions www.morsealpha.com

New England Science & Sailing www.nessf.org

North U www.northu.com

Oliver Hazard Perry Rhode Island www.ohpri.org

Offshore Sailing School www.offshoresailing.com

Pettipaug Sailing Academy www.pettipaug.com

Sail Newport www.sailnewport.org

Sailtime www.sailtime.com

Sea School www.seaschool.com

Society for the Education of American Sailors (S.E.A.S.) www.sailseas.com

SoundWaters/Young Mariners Academy www.soundwaters.org

Tall Ships America www.sailtraining.org

Tall Ship Unicorn www.tallshipunicorn.com

US Powerboating www.uspowerboating.com

US Sailing www.ussailing.org

World Ocean School www.worldoceanschool.org

We're glad you're enjoying WindСheck! Create a free account today to get access to more features.Already a subscriber? Sign in

It looks like you are using an ad-blocker! Please disable your ad-blocker to help support local advertisers