By Ed Sargent

Buzzards Bay TrophyThe Buzzards Bay Trophy was established in 2017 to increase and sustain PHRF yacht racing on Buzzards Bay.

Jim Masiero’s J/122 Ursus Maritimus (Beverly Yacht Club) chases Matt Schmitt’s J/105 Hardtack (Buzzards Yacht Club) in the Beverly YC-sponsored Hurricane Cup.  © Paul Hyde

Five clubs in Massachusetts, Beverly Yacht Club in Marion, Buzzards Yacht Club in Pocasset, Mattapoisett Yacht Club in Mattapoisett, New Bedford Yacht Club in South Dartmouth, and Quissett Yacht Club in Falmouth, came together to collectively award the Buzzards Bay Trophy to the Racing and Cruising Class yachts with the best combined score in four of six races:

  • Mattapoisett Yacht Club Spring Round-the-Bay Race, June 9
  • New Bedford Yacht Club Whaler’s Race, June 23
  • Beverly Yacht Club Parker Converse Tower Race, July 14
  • Buzzards Yacht Club PHRF Race, August 18
  • Quissett Yacht Club Round-the-Bay Race, September 8
  • Beverly Yacht Club Hurricane Cup, September 22

These are medium to long distance races from approximately 25 miles within Buzzards Bay to the 50- and 100-mile Whaler’s Race. A yacht must participate in at least four of the six races to be eligible for the Buzzards Bay Trophy, and must have a valid PHRF certificate for each race in which she participates.

Each boat’s race score shall be her finish position score divided by the number of boats starting in her division. Each boat’s series score shall be the total of her four lowest race scores. The perpetual trophy shall be engraved with the name of winning yacht, the skipper and the yacht club from which the yacht hails, if applicable. Individual “keeper” trophies will also be presented to the winners.

Last year, Buzzards Bay Trophy events had an aggregate of over 60 yachts participating. Thirteen yachts completed the minimum of four races. The 2017 winners were Ryan Walsh’s KP36 Next from New Bedford Yacht Club and Allan Eddy’s Pearson 36-2 Kinsale from Plymouth Yacht Club.

For more information and to register for 2018 events, visit the host club’s website.

Ed Sargent is Commodore of Mattapoisett Yacht Club.